"The #1 Male 'Standards' Release of 2017!"

- KJAZZ 88.1 FM, America's Jazz & Blues Station

With a successful debut under his belt, Matt Forbes has pushed his second full-length album, Solitary Man, in even bolder, unexpected directions. Recorded over a period of six months at the iconic EastWest Studios and Igloo Music in Los Angeles and co-produced by GRAMMY award-winning producer/engineer Nicholai Baxter (La La Land, Rufus Wainwright) this sophomore follow-up sees the Canadian pop crooner reunite with acclaimed British arranger, Callum Au (Jamie Cullum) and some of Los Angeles’ top studio talents to redefine our perception of just what ‘vintage pop’ can be. Pulling from over a century’s worth of pop hits, the result is a remarkable album of vocal pop that both excites and surprises.

From the explosive downbeat of the John Barry, 007-inspired, 'Cry Me A River' to the haunting strains of U2's 'With Or Without You', Forbes manages to transcend genre altogether, establishing strong musical concepts for each of the thirteen tracks and demonstrating a vocal prowess well beyond his years.

For those expecting the big, bold swing that helped put the 20-something Forbes on the map, the classic pop standards are all here, rendered in magnicent technicolor through Forbes’ sheer exuberance. While comparisons to the Sinatras, Connicks, and Bublés seem inevitable, there’s no whiff of imitation here. As a lone baritone in a sea of pop tenors, Forbes is decidedly his own man with his own sound. And it’s in the unexpected detours like the moody, folk-tinged title track, ’Solitary Man’, that one gets a glimpse of the depth of Forbes’ talent and where the young pop singer might take his listeners next.

While this latest effort goes a long way in demonstrating that great music is truly beyond category as a revivalist of classic pop, Matt Forbes is quickly finding himself in a league all his own. 


  1. Cry Me A River
  2. What You Won't Do For Love
  3. I Wanna Be Around
  4. Solitary Man
  5. The One I Love (Belongs To Somebody Else)
  6. With Or Without You
  7. I've Got You Under My Skin
  8. Rainin'
  9. The Best Is Yet To Come
  10. Angel Eyes
  11. After You've Gone
  12. Some Guys Have All The Luck (Bonus Track)
  13. On Melancholy Hill (Bonus Track)